DDS Diamonds
The 4 C's

All you need to know to find the most beautiful diamond within your budget, we will take you through the four C's to ensure you know the most important features when buying a diamond.


This is one factor not determined by nature, the cut grade of a diamonds refers to the preciseness of the diamonds angels. Cut grading is split into 3 categories, the overall cut, the polish and the symmetry making up the overall reflective qualities of the stone.

Diagram of Diamon Cut

When a diamond is well cut, light enters through the table and travels to the pavilion where it reflects from one side to the other before reflecting back out of the diamond through the table and to the observer's eye.

Types of Diamond Cut

In a poorly cut diamond, the light that enters through the table reaches the facets and then 'leaks' out from the sides or bottom of the diamond rather than reflecting back to the eye. Less light reflected back to the eye means less brilliance. The best cut diamonds are those that follow a formula calculated to maximize brilliance. The most important factor is how the depth compares to the diameter, and how the diameter of the table compares to the diameter of the diamond.


Diamond clarity is the identification of inclusions in and on the surface of a stone. They are guarantees of the natural evolution of the original diamond crystal. Inclusions are such things as mineral specimens, crystals, cracks, and non-diamond minerals found in the stone. Surface inclusions include scratches, pits, and chips.

Diamonds are graded for clarity under 10x loupe magnification. Grades range from Flawless (diamonds which are completely free of inclusions), to Included or Pique 3 (diamonds which possess large, heavy inclusions that are visible to the naked eye).

  • VVS1-VVS2 - Very Very Slightly Included (two grades). Minute inclusions very difficult to detect under 10x magnification by a trained gemmologist.
  • VS1-VS2 - Very Slightly Included (two grades). Minute inclusions seen only with difficulty under 10x magnification.
  • SI1-SI2 - Slightly Included (two grades). Minute inclusions more easily detected under 10x magnification, but impossible to see with the naked eye.
  • I1-I2-I3 or Pique 1,2 and 3. Included (three grades). Inclusions visible to the human eye.


Diamonds are formed under intense heat and pressure, traces of other elements maybe present in their atomic structure resulting in the variation in colour. Only a few diamonds are truly colourless therefore, the whiter the diamond the greater the value.

When looking at white diamonds, colour refers to the presence or absence of an overall yellowish hue in the stone or by how much the stone deviates from truly colourless. The recognised and established colour scale for diamonds begins with the highest rating of D for colourless, and travels down the alphabet, going from stones with a very faint or light yellowish hue to a dark brownish colour.

Diamonds graded D through G are naturally the most valuable and desirable because of their rarity. But you can still obtain very attractive diamonds that are graded slightly less than colourless. Very faint hint of yellow will be apparent in diamonds graded J through M, this colour can often be minimized by using yellow gold to mount the diamond.


The carat of a diamond refers to its weight rather than its size or diameter. The value per carat increases with carat size as larger rough diamonds occur less frequently. A carat is a unit of measurement equalling 0.2 grams.

Don't confuse "carat weight" with "karat,"" the method of determining the purity of gold. Large diamonds are rare and have a greater value per carat. For that reason, when the price per carat is multiplied by the number of carats, the price of a diamond raises exponentially.

DDS Diamonds

or call 08 8332 0707

Facebook Twitter
Like us on Facebook and Follow us on Twitter

DDS Direct Diamond Sales Co. High Street, Burnside, SA
© 2013 DDS Diamonds